How things are working out!

January 9, 2009 at 1:00 pm (ADHD, autism, Children, Family, God, Life, photography) (, , , , , , , , , , , )

I started out this GFCF diet process, by trying to keep a journal of everything Levi eats.  Well, that didn’t work.  I just couldn’t keep up with it all.  I read in one of my books or research sites, that you really shouldn’t have to write everything down.  It stated that after an initial “withdrawal” period, in which behaviors can get worse, you should be able to just tell if your child is following the diet correctly.  You should be able to see such an improvement in him that there is no doubt it is a success.  Anything less than that and you might as well not follow the diet.  It’s just not worth all the work to see only minimal kickback.

Well, I’m happy to announce that I see the diet working!!  I’m not the only one either.  Other people in our lives have made comments about how they can tell a difference in him.

  • My Mom say’s he’s calmer and more in control of his actions than a few months ago.
  • Levi’s teacher says he seems to not be as active or impulsive and when he is, he backs up real quick & apologizes.
  • The staff at Church say that Levi is “back to his sweet self”.
  • I have noticed all these things in addition to he seems to have a huge understanding now of what we’re trying to accomplish with this diet thing.  He has amazed all of us with how he has taken control of his own diet, and will make sure that he knows it’s safe before he eats it.  Not even candy or sweets get by him!  But, the thing that most excites me is that he seems to show more empathy.  (Those of you with autistic children will completely understand why this excites me.)

I have to admit to some added benefits for the rest of the family.

  • I feel healthier and have less stomach problems when I eat foods only on the diet.
  • We are eating out WAY less than before, saving money by doing that, and eating more meals together at the table.
  • We are eating  healthier by keeping a pantry stocked with healthier snacks & foods.
  • I have enjoyed getting back to cooking, which I used to love!

I am praying hard that this positive momentum continues!  I’m sure we’ll have obstacles along the way, but with all the positives I’ve seen so far, it will be WELL worth it!

I want to thank God most of all!  I should have been listening to Him from the beginning and we would have never even tried the drugs!

dsc015322

1 Comment

  1. Bad week. « His Work in Progress said,

    […] after a great report last week, I’m afraid I can’t give the same for this week.  Levi has really pushed the […]

Leave a Reply

